Quantifying FISH signals of repetitive sequences in chromosomes

Hello ImageJ community. I am quite new in the cytogenetics field. I am looking for a way to quantify FISH signal distribution in relation to surface area of the chromosomes. I have read the segmentation process, however, I find it difficult to use in signals like in the photos attached. Thank you.
Slide1.tif (188.7 KB)
Slide1.tif (272.0 KB)

@samsevilleno

Can you provide a bit more detail for each image? What is what (remember - most don’t know your biology here)? And what do you need to ‘segment’ exactly?

Give us a bit more details to help us help you better…

Here are some helpful links on Segmentation in Fiji as well:

Thank you so much for your response.

I am currently doing fluorescence in situ hybridization (FISH) on metaphase chromosomes. I used 18S rDNA (red) and DNA repetitive sequences (yellow) of my species as my probes. What I need to do is to measure or quantify the distribution of the yellow-colored signals in each chromosome. I need to get the area of distribution of the signal relative to each chromosome’s surface area (I don’t know if ‘ratio’ is the right term for it).
I tried using the Segmentation procedure, it does measure the area of the signals however, I do not know how to make it in relative to that specific chromosome alone where the signal I am measuring is located. I was thinking to segment the chromosome first, then the signals next. But I am not sure if I’m on the right track.

Here are the photos for your reference.

Many thanks for your help.

rnd-5_slide1.tif (659.3 KB)

rnd-5_slide4.tif (1.1 MB)

@samsevilleno

Ok. Perhaps it’s because I’m only starting on coffee #2 this morning … but I’m confused. Break it down for me a bit - consider that no one here knows the biology of what you are doing… and disregard ‘colors’ of your signal (these are false colors… all we care about are which channels are what). You have uploaded a 3-channel image: