Quantify contact between two types of cells (red and green)

Hi,

First, I would like to thank you for this nice software and ask for your kind help.

I am studying Horizontal Gene Trasfer. I have managed easily to create a pipeline to count cells ( donors in red, recipients in yellow and transconjugant both green and yellow). I would like to have your opinion in 2 different kind of analysis, considering I am producing time series containing images as the attached one:

Can we track a single object along a movie? if so, could you suggest me how?

Can we count only the number of red cells which are in contact with green or yellow cells? no clue either how to get started.

Finally, I would also like to use the orientation data available for the individual objects. However, I am just obtaining values like 2*1000 etc. which make no sense for an angle, althought number of cells and other results seems to make sense.Any idea about what could be wrong?

Thans a lot,

jose

Hi Jose,

Answers to your questions follow:

Have a look at the TrackObjects module in the Measurement category. This allows you to track a set of objects according to a variety of measures; we find tracking by “Overlap” works well if the cells aren’t jumping around too much. However, at this point, we don’t a record of splits or merges (but we’re working on it). Also, any tracking algorithm relies on the objects being accurately identified beforehand. Your images look grainy so be attentive to good object segmentation.

If you are able to distinguish the red vs. green/yellow cells (i.e., you have identified separate objects for each label), you can try the following:

• ExpandOrShrink: Expand the green/yellow objects by a couple of pixels for the next step