Quantification of a signal and excluding areas?

Hey!

I search for a method to quantify Fibrosis in heart tissue.The method I found quite useful is: RGB-Stack → Adjust → Threshold

The only problem is that:

Changing the lower threshold doesn’t change the results, I wonder why…(?). It should represent the whole area, which should change if there are black areas for example. I therefore need a method to exclude bl13452 3.tif (5.4 MB) ack areas (which are due to the tissue ripping apart)

If anyone has a guide how to do the quantification differently, I would really appreciate that … It would be also quite helpful to find a method to exclude black areas in the images :slight_smile:

Here the Image:

• red is the signal of the fibrosis
  • green is just tissue
  • blue can be ignored

Hello
@Kay_One
I see two shades of red: one is brighter than the other.
Not being a biologist, I opted for the bright red color.
It gives me this:

Can this be correct for your requirements?

1 Like

Hello Mathew!

that might be, I would probably analyze both shades. The bigger problem is that there are black areas which should be excluded.

My goal is to quantify fibrosis through the calculation:

Fibrosis = red signal/ whole area

The whole area is mostly tissue. The black areas in the picture is just due to ripping of the tissue, therefore it should be excluded from the analysis. Unfortunetly I don’t know how to exclude this area via imagej/FIJI. I am happy for any suggestion :slight_smile:

Black areas should generally not be a problem in analyzing fluorescent images, since each channel is independent.

Assuming you do not have significant background problems, it should be fairly straightforward to use the red mono channel and do a single channel threshold. It sounds like you are trying to do that with the stack.

If you do not have the original image (mono-channel of the red signal), then the red channel may be the best you can do.