Quantification and pattern recognition of necrosis

Hello

I’m new to ImageJ and image analysis in general, and have spent the last several weeks doing as much reading up on the topic as I can; however, I haven’t been able to sort out a way to create a pattern recognition macro for tissue necrosis (central area of pallor in the attached image). I would like to take multiple images, and get a rough estimate of area of necrosis as compared to the whole tissue and whole lesion without having to manually outline every lesion.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Hi Mike,

I am not too familiar with histology, but judging from your example image I would suggest for you to have a look into QuPath.
QuPath also has youtube videos for documentation available to get started.
Alternatively you can check out Orbit.
Both of theses tools are free and specifically useful for the analysis of your images like yours.

Thank you very much, I will look into both of these!

@Mike_Rich

I cannot access your image for some reason… but from what you describe - you can also take a look at the Trainable Weka Segmentation plugin. It is “a Fiji plugin that combines a collection of machine learning algorithms with a set of selected image features to produce pixel-based segmentations.”

You can train it to locate regions of necrosis… and apply that classifier to multiple images to batch process them. :slight_smile:

Just another option …

eta

@etadobson I was not able to open the image through the link, but saving the link to the desktop worked.

@Mike_Rich If you look into QuPath, I would suggest using Estimate Stain Vectors, then Simple Tissue Detection to get your overall tissue area, SLIC superpixel segmentation to generate sub-areas to classify, and Calculate+Add Intensity Features. You may also want to try Local Binary Patterns. Once you have features added to your segmentation you can create a classifier using a selected training set.