Problems using 3D Watershed block in protocols

Hello!

I have been using Icy to try and segment 3D gastruloids stained with florescent markers and have come up with a protocol that splits the channels, applies the ‘Edge preserving Denoising and Smoothing’ filter before HK-Means thresholding to get a binary image. I am then using the binary image to generate a distance map. Subsequently, because there are a lot of overlapping and clustered cells, I wanted to use watershed to separate the cells with the distance map and binary image as inputs, however, I have tried playing around with the watershed block for some time now and it always results in an error and ‘bug report’.

Apologies if anything doesn’t make sense, I am fairly new to Icy to some of my problems may simply be because I have missed something basic.

I would be grateful for any suggestions on how to resolve this issue or suggestions of alternative methods of segmenting highly clustered cells.

Many thanks!

Dear Errin,

I need some more information to help you.

1. Which version of Icy do you use ?

2. Could upload a screenshot of the error message and bug report?
    There might be also useful information in the log window of the protocol editor (on the right, you may need to click on the little arrow on the left of the text “Execution log” to open it)

and in the output tab (right side panel).
Output_tab

1. In addition to documenting the bug you encounter, could you share an example image and your protocol ? This is useful to reproduce the bug but also to suggest alternative segmentation methods.

Many thanks in advance.
Best regards,
Marion

1 Like

Dear Marion,

Thank you very much for your reply, it is greatly appreciated.

1. I am using Icy version 2.0.3.0

2. Here are the screenshots of the bug reports:

3. Here is my current protocol: Watershed_.protocol (12.7 KB)
    and an example image: Haneen OCT4 SOX17 2020.2.19 - B02 KSR BMP4 OCT4 SOX17 sph 2.zip (19.7 MB)