Preventing Merging or Splitting in CellProfiler

cellprofiler

Hi all,

I’m new to CellProfiler and loving it. Yet, as a newb I’m running into issues. I’ll try to be clear with my question. Please ask me to be more specific if not clear. To avoid revealing too much info, I would like to not share the pipeline or image set unless I can do so in private.

My question is: when tracking cells and cell components (nuclei, cell borders, cytoplasms, etc) as primary, secondary, and tertiary objects) over 150 frames or so, or even a few, is there a way to prevent or outlaw merging and splitting of the cells or cell components, as well as potentially outlawing new objects (although this can be tolerated and managed post-processing), without using the LAP tracking method?

My problem is: I’ve tried the overlap and distance approaches (as well as some other things), but the objects being tracked are highly motile, very homogeneous with respect to fluorescent intensity, and subject to a variety of shape and velocity changes which don’t follow any pattern with respect to neighbors, or even themselves frame-to-frame. Accordingly, when tracking multiple objects, sometimes the distance to the nearest neighbor (also being tracked) is less than the inter-frame (frame-to-frame) movement distance of the object(s) of interest. So, such objects are deemed by the program as splits, merges, or new objects. Increasing the overlap or distance measurements seems to result in a miscall, again a split or a merge with a closer object rather than the one being tracked. Decreasing the distances seems to result in lots of new objects being identified. One or two is ok, but multiple new objects per multiple frames is not able to be handled even post-processing.