Placing a point at divided lengths of a line

Hi,

I am new to ImageJ and I am trying to write a tool to place multiple points on a measured line at n divided segments of that measured line. However, I am not sure how to approach this problem… Any help would be great!

Thank you!

Hi Junshen,

Welcome to the ImageJ community!

I am only familiar with the ImageJ macro language, you can use the macro recorder to find out how to script functions you use in ImageJ.

I’ve made a script that does what you asked for a straight line:

getSelectionCoordinates(x, y); 				//returns array of x and y coordinates for selection (in this case a straight line has only two points and four coords)

ylength = y[0] - y[1]; 						//finds the length of the line in the y axis by taking the first y coordinate from the second
xlength = x[0] - x[1];						//finds the length in the x axis	the same way
n = getNumber("How many segments?", 10); 	//asks how many segments to break the line in to (points are plotted in between each segment and the ends of the line)	
yinc = (ylength/n); 						//the increment in the y axis between each point's y coordinate
xinc = (xlength/n); 						//the increment in the x axis between each point's x coordinate
for (j=0; j<=n; j++) { 						//a for loop to plot points, repeats for the total number of segments + 1 (as 0 is counted)
	xcoord = x[0] - (xinc*j); 				//calculates the x coordinate of the point to be plotted by subtracting the increment value (multiplied by the current segment number defined by 'j') from the first x coord of the line
	ycoord = y[0] - (yinc*j); 				//calculates the y coordinate as above from the top-most point on the line
	setKeyDown("shift"); 					//required to plot multiple points on the same selection (otherwise will only plot one point and overwrite them every time it loops)
	makePoint(xcoord, ycoord); 				//makes a point selection at the x and y coords calculated above
}