Pixel Size

In version 1 there was a way to set the pixel size in microns. I have searched the 2.0 manual + application windows and have yet to find the same feature. Am I missing something?

I have a pipeline established to identify/count total number of surface brain mets (GFP positive), measure the object size and shape, and output that information image and object information into an excel spreadsheet. As per the microscope metadata .XML file and my micrometer, 1 pixel is 10.1um for my 10X 8bit .Tif images.

The end result I am looking to yield is the surface area of each individual tumor and then the total surface area for all tumors in one image.

If there is no way to set the default pixel size, could I use the CalculateMath module to do the conversion and output that in my excel file?

I have attached my pipeline and 2 example images. I think at this point I have the thresholding about as good as I can get–although I am just learning to use CellProfiler (I used to work with the Broads Screen Group using MetaXpress and running the high content screening microscopes).

Thanks in advance!
Meg

SurfaceMets2.cp (5.3 KB)

Hi Meg, I remember meeting you at Broad, it must be a couple years ago now.

No, you haven’t missed anything, the setting is not there. Our group just discussed adding it into CP2, however it is not our highest priority. It requires that we go through each of our hundreds of measurements and decide what the conversion factor is for each measurement and modify dozens of modules’ code. And yes, since you can indeed add a CalculateMath module to modify a particular measurement, the cost-benefit to us is low. But we will take your request to heart.

In CalcMath, you would multiply your area measurement, which is in units of (pixels)^2, by (10.1 micron/pixel)^2 to get (microns)^2.
Also, it sounds like you have, but be sure to validate the metadata scale value with an actual micrometer manually in the field of view.

Cheers,
David