Pixel classifier for non-nucleated cells and tissues - how can I improve it?

Hi,
I’m new to QuPath and impressed with what it can do, especially regarding cell detection.
However, what I have are slides with three components: fibrin, red blood cells (RBCs) and thrombocytes (platelets). RBCs and platelets don’t have nuclei and fibrin is an extracellular protein with an amorphous quality in H&E.

I have trained a pixel classifier to identify these three components for quantitative analys since none of them have nuclei. I used rectangular selections of various sizes, one at a time, in which I annotated the components. It does fairly well but not great.

1. How do improve the classifier?
  2. In “Show annotation measurements”, is it possible to get the total area for each component, or do I have to copy the results to clipboard and paste it in excel?

Kind regards
Oskar

It would help if you posted an image or two with information relating to how the classifier is failing, and whether inter/intra image variability is likely problematic.

If you used the pixel classifier within an annotation, there is usually a sum or percent area within that annotation. Alternatively, if you don’t split during the Object creation portion of using the classifier, you should be able to see the entire object’s area at once.

1 Like