Pixel classification in ilastik

Hello,

I’ve been trying to perform image segmentation using pixel classification in ilastik. After loading the input file which is a z-stack with ~1200 slices, all 37 features have been selected.

In the training step, labels have been added to define the pixel class (please refer to the snapshot below with annonations drawn on slice 626 in the z-stack).

I’m a beginner here, I’d like to know if it’s ok to proceed with the prediction export step after adding annotation on one slice alone.

I tried to continue with the prediction export step.
Unfortunately, I didn’t get the segmentation right.

The volume reconstructed from the tiff files exported in the prediction export step is shared in the above snapshot. I was expecting the volume to consist only blood vessels and not any tissue mass.

Any suggestion on how to improve the annotation labels to retain only blood vessels will
be really helpful.

For links to the input, please refer here

Hi @Deepa,

it is good practice to first look at your results in live update mode. Only you know what kind of structures you want to highlight. If you want only blood vessels, go to live prediction and give examples for non-vessel pixels, as well as vessels. Try to be very accurate, consider the 1 pixel wide brush. Correct the classifier until you are satisfied.

Hope this get’s you closer to a nice vessel segmentation.

i gave it a really quick go (not really knowing what I do, since I don’t know the data) and I end up more with something like this using a relatively small amount of annotations.

I’m sorry , I am new here and I tried to follow the examples available in the documentation to understand how annotations should be added. I might have gone wrong here. Could you please share a snapshot of the annotations that you have added? I am really looking for an end result like the one shared by you in the above snapshot. Is the annotation added on a single slice in the z-stack?