Pipeline for skeletonization

Hi there,

I’m new with CellProfiler. I need some help with the module “Measure Neurons”. I created a pipeline to study some pictures of neurons and get the neurite length from a stack of images.

ColorToGray
IdentifyPrimaryObjects
Morph (Skel)
Measure neurons
ExportToSpreadsheet

I think something is wrong with the measurement. Is it supposed to look like this? I’m very new with CellProfiler any help would be highly appreciated. Do you guys have a Pipeline that I can modify and adapt to my pictures please?

Attached you can see pictures of morph and measureneurons.
Thank you so much for your help

Welcome!

To clarify, you are not thrilled with the accuracy of the output of Morph, is that right?

Before IdentifyPrimaryObjects, you could try EnhanceOrSuppressFeatures, and within that choose Neurites as the feature type. Then, adjust IdentifyPrimaryObjects to use the output of the Enhance module as its input. That should do a better job of properly identifying the neurites prior to the rest of the pipeline.

Secondarily, I’m not actually sure about using Morph - in CellProfiler you sometimes have to pay attention to whether you are working with objects or images - of course both are represented as images but some modules care about the type of input and output.

I mention this because I don’t know whether it’s okay to use Morph with objects as input (IdentifyPrimaryObjects definitely produces objects) and I also don’t know whether MeasureNeurons is expecting to receive objects as input. Perhaps someone else can address that or you can figure it out.

Hi,

Thank you so much for reply, and congratulation for the software and your hard work.
I totally modified the pipeline and went with a different approach:

• ColorToGray
  • EnhanceOrSuppressFeatures: I enanched neurites in the appropriate way.
  • EnhanceOrSuppressFeatures: suppressed neurites and enanched this time cell bodies of neurons.