Percent of ROI for given threshold?

So, I am very new to this software and downloaded it only to try to accomplish this one task:

I am working with nephrin stained images (green). Each image needs to be analyzed by selecting the Region Of Interest (ROI) and analyzing the PERCENTAGE of GREEN that has been customarily threshold-ed by ME. The point of this is to analyze how much of the nephrin has leaked out of the glomerulus and into the tubules. Again, the only way of quantifying this is getting a percentage of green “stuff” that is within the ROI, which can only be known by acquiring a threshold of everything OUTSIDE of the ROI.

If you are interested in helping me with this, please reach out to me if I need to further clarify.

@moraydah

Welcome to the Forum and the wonderful world of ImageJ!

So… let’s see about getting you some help.

Would you be able to post an image that show what you want to measure exactly? How are you setting your thresholds at the moment - what is your current workflow?

Also - do you have other channels to define the ROI and then measure your nephrin staining? In general - it is never really a good idea to use the signal you want to measure the intensity of to set the threshold for your ROIs… Check out this older Forum post that explains this issue with measurements of intensity involving a threshold on the same channel as the one being measured.

Here are some other super helpful links to get you started with ImageJ, Image Analysis, and Segmentation:

Hope this helps!

eta :slight_smile:

Thank you so much for the response!!!

Now, to answer your questions…

Here, you can see the original images plus my attempt at quantifying the percentage of thresholded amount of color within the ROI that I have drawn. I want to threshold the entire image but be able to adjust is accordingly so I can get a good representation of a percentage that is within the ROI. The method that I have been using is: