Pattern analysis of nets used in fish farming

Hello

I am working on a small project at my university regarding automatic analysis of pattern deviations( holes, rifts, etc…) in nets used in fish farming.
I dont have much time to devote to this project, and have only worked a little with image analysis earlyer, so im quite new at this game.
My only experience with image analysis/processing is LabVIEW programs such as NI Vision Builder, but that’s pretty much it.

Therefore i am wondering if anyone here could recomend any not to time consuming or easy to use program or app where this could be achieved. Any help or tips would be very appriciated. :smile:

Here is an typical image i would be working with:

Hello @magnhel and welcome to the forum!

What do you exactly need to do? Find the location of holes/rifts in the image? Count them?

ignacio

Thanks @iarganda

I only need to detect holes/rifts in a given image. A net is typically 70m in diameter and 100m deep, formed like a cylinder, so a lot of images would be neccecary for a thourough search.

Lets say, if 800 images is needed to “scan” the outisde surface of then net for deviations, i only need a program that would detect if there is some form for hole/rift in any image.
Location in the image or any other factors, like number of deviations is not important in this case.

Making a program that shuffles through a folder of images is not the problem here, only the part of detecting if there is any holes/rifts present.:relaxed:

Magnus

Magnus,

it would be quite helpful to see images with typical net-defects.

Best

Herbie

Hi @anon96376101

Defects will typically be from what you can see on the added image and bigger holes

Magnus

Magnus,

I guess the image with the defect is an enlargement and that your images are of the size of the intact net posted earlier (or even larger).