Overlapping Particles Particle Size Analysis

Background

This image is some dust taken from an aircraft engine test and I need to analyse the particle size distribution. There are a few different minerals in here, but hopefully should somewhat be able to represent the atmospheric dust.

I am extremely new to image j and have barely learned the ropes yet.

Challenges

As you can probably tell, the image is made extremely noisy by the fact that there are a lot of very small particles overlapping some of the larger and vice versa.

I have tried watershedding and modifying the threshold but they are not able to solve the image.

I have viewed the below forum page which has linked to some clever sounding stuff written by Thorsten Wagner, but I don’t know how to make use of it/whether it is applicable in my case or not. Would someone please be able to help?

Hi, i need help on separating overlapping starch particles - Image Analysis - Image.sc Forum

Interesting task …

Your sample image is unsuited for quantitative analyses mainly due to heavy over-exposure. Please check its histogram.

Furthermore, please work with and provide uncompressed images.
(JPG-compression is lossy and introduces artifacts that can’t be removed.)

Did you consider Fourier power-spectral analyses?

Hi notQRV!

I have attached the histogram here. Please again accept my apologies, I am very new to this and don’t know much about image processing at all!

I havent looked into Fourier power-spectral analyses, would that be something worth doing? What is its benefit exactly?

The gray-value histogram I get from the square-sized area (649x649) at x=90, y=0 of your sample image is:
Histogram of image
It clearly shows that the image is saturated, i.e. the highlights are clipped (value 255) and can’t be distiguished.

Regarding power-spectral analysis, it appears rather difficult to explain it to someone not familiar with signal theory and analysis (here pictorial signals). The topic is far from basic.