Outlier removal not sticking

Hi everybody,

I’m new to using ImageJ for my work and have been really impressed by it. However, I’m having one small issue.

Whenever I remove outliers, I click okay and they’re gone, great.But, as soon as I try to adjust colour thresholds the outlier removal completely disappears. I want to apply the colour threshold adjustment after the outlier removal.

The only work around I have is to save the image after outlier removal and then start again, but that means that I won’t be able to create a macro for my process.

Essentially, the goal is to measure the area of meat (red). The image needs adjusting as the fine bits of fat within the meat are not an issue, we’re looking for the main red area. Also there is a gloss/sheen to the meat which picks up as bright (as the fat does) hence the need for removing those as outliers. What I want was possible, it just required me to save and reopen.

Many thanks.

Good day,

sorry but in order to help you we need a MWE that reproduces the problem.

1. Please post a small image (in th eoriginal TIF- or PNG-format) for which the effect is clearly visible and describe in detail and step by step what you are doing and what went wrong in your opinion.

2. Furthermore, you can post the image you want to process and tell us what you want to achieve in the end. Perhaps there are ways to do it differently or even better.

3. Please don’t mix 1. and 2.

Regards

Herbie

Hi Herbie, thanks for the response. I’ve changes the description so hopefully this is now better.

Thanks again.

Thanks for the image which of course is a screen shot and the image originally was JPG-compressed which is a no-no for any kind of scientific image evaluation.

Anyhow, I can’t confirm the described problem:

Perhaps we should concentrate on my point 2. and you explain what you like to achieve in the end.

Regards

Herbie