Out of memory but only using 50% of total memory? BIOP plugin

fiji

I’m using the BIOP plugin to try and extract a .tiff from a .vsi file. It works for my images at 10x, however, when I try with my 20x images, I receive the java out of memory error (but Fiji is only using 50% of my total allocated memory)… I am new to Fiji, so I might just be doing something wrong?

(Fiji Is Just) ImageJ 2.0.0-rc-69/1.52i; Java 1.8.0_172 [64-bit]; Mac OS X 10.14.2; 3123MB of 6222MB (50%)

java.lang.OutOfMemoryError: Java heap space
at ij.CompositeImage.updateImage(CompositeImage.java:263)
at ij.CompositeImage.updateAndDraw(CompositeImage.java:186)
at ij.IJ.setMinAndMax(IJ.java:1216)
at ij.IJ.setMinAndMax(IJ.java:1205)
at ij.macro.Functions.setMinAndMax(Functions.java:5526)
at ij.macro.Functions.doFunction(Functions.java:105)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doStatement(Interpreter.java:250)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doBlock(Interpreter.java:635)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doStatement(Interpreter.java:295)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doFor(Interpreter.java:557)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doStatement(Interpreter.java:277)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doIf(Interpreter.java:1012)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doStatement(Interpreter.java:271)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.runUserFunction(Interpreter.java:334)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doStatement(Interpreter.java:256)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doIf(Interpreter.java:1025)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.runUserFunction(Interpreter.java:334)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doStatement(Interpreter.java:256)
at ij.macro.Interpreter.doStatements(Interpreter.java:236)

Thanks for your help!

Hi @belliveau13,

How much total ram does your machine have? If you have 6GB in total, it is possible that several other open applications are eating away at your RAM and that you do not really have 6 GB available for Fiji/

However it is unusual, Could you let us know the final size of the image you will be getting (number of pixels in X and Y)? How many channels you have or if it’s an RGB image?