Otsu's threshold method delivers different results in scikit-image and ImageJ

Dear friends of ImageJ and scikit-image,

I was just playing with threshold methods in both worlds and discovered that Otsu’s method obviously delivers slightly different results when being called from scikit-image and ImageJ.

Does anybody know why? I realised that in python the threshold is determined as a floating point number even though the image is saved as 8-bit integer. Thus I assume it’s converted while loading? May that be the issue?

I’m new to the python/scikit-image world. Is there anything I’m doing wrong?

I put my example code online:

Any hints and suggestions are welcome! :slight_smile:

Cheers,
Robert

2 Likes

The blobs image is a bad candidate to test thresholds because it is heavily quantised (have a look at the histogram in IJ).
However I am willing to bet that the image above (Figure 1) is not exactly the same as blobs.tif.
At coordinates (84, 114) there is a tiny blob in the IJ version which does not exist in the Figure1 version.
One could assume that it is because the threshold is different, but if you go increasing the threshold one by one manually, by the time that small blob disappears (at t=153), there is a “hole” in another blob at (78,41) which did not show up in Figure1.
So I can only conclude that the two images are different, as it is difficult to imagine how that hole could appear in one but not in the other image.
Actually I suspect that Figure1 could have been smoothed (internally?) with a kernel of radius 2 or thereabouts.

3 Likes

I cannot reproduce what you are seeing there. For me, the tiny dot near
the centre shows up with both Fiji and scikit-image. However, I do
see minor differences.

One thing that strikes me is that skimage opens this as data type uint16
and has very different gray values and therefore thresholds.
Not sure why that is. @jni?
skimage version 0.14.0