Orientation in batch processing?

Hello everyone,

I’ve hit a bit of a snag with BoneJ that I hoped someone might be able to help with (I’m new to the program myself).

I’d like to do batch processing on a large number of scanned cross-sections (old school–these are traced from physical casts and then scanned, so no internal geometry). They are already oriented (they match the default orientation settings in ImageJ). Slice geometry works great in batch mode, but I can’t get batch mode to work when I add the Orientation plugin and I need the extra information that it provides.

Is there a way to either add the Orientation plugin to the macro or specify the orientations in the macro (since they are known) in a way that Slice Geometry will recognize?

Below I’ve pasted my crack at it–when it gets to run("Orientation"), an exception window pops up.

Many thanks!

-Gina

dir1 = getDirectory("Choose Source Directory ");
list = getFileList(dir1);

setBatchMode(true);

for (i=0; i<list.length; i++) {
     showProgress(i+1, list.length);
     open(dir1+list[i]);
     title = getTitle();

run("8-bit");

run("Properties...", "unit=mm pixel_width=0.04152 pixel_height=0.04152 voxel_depth=1");

run("Orientation");

run("Slice Geometry", "bone=unknown 2d_thickness draw_axes draw_centroids annotated_copy_(2d) bone_min=70 bone_max=255 slope=0.0000 y_intercept=1.8000");

close();
1 Like

Hello Gina,

Could you paste the exception you encounter here, please?

Regards,
Richard

Sure–here’s the text from the window (the exception has no specific error number):

ImageJ 1.49v; Java 1.6.0_24 [64-bit]; Windows NT (unknown) 6.2; 21MB of 12242MB (<1%)

java.lang.NullPointerException
	at org.doube.geometry.Orienteer.addLabels(Orienteer.java:506)
	at org.doube.geometry.Orienteer.rotate(Orienteer.java:485)
	at org.doube.geometry.Orienteer.rotateTo(Orienteer.java:499)
	at org.doube.geometry.Orienteer.setup(Orienteer.java:269)
	at org.doube.geometry.Orienteer.<init>(Orienteer.java:239)