Nucleii + micro nucleii identification

greetings
i am somewhat new to cell profiler and i am using the software to get an idea as to what would be the best approach to identifying nucleii and micronucleii from some images i have been given. The images are of some stem cells which have been treated such that they binucleate but do not seperate, and later i will have some images which will contain micronucleii which will be of the cells after they are irradiated. I have only used the basic pipeline approach at first and i’ve tinkered around with some stuff and loaded other pipelines others have put up on the forum and in the example pipelines given on the website but to little success. I am as you can see somewhat stuck and any help and advice would be really appreciated as this is for my final year project and the further i get the better.

the pipeline i used for the attachment was incredibly basic, just load image and identify primary object on default settings, otsu global etc etc.
basic.cp (3.13 KB)

Hi,

The detection is getting confused because there are 3 levels of intensity: dim (background), middle (cytoplasm) and high (nucleus). This will probably become apparent if you right-click on the upper-left panel (the original image), and select Image contrast > Log normalized.

I would suggest changing the Otsu thresholding from 2-class to 3-class with the middle class set to Background. This should get the detection you want, and then you can work on segmentation.

Regards,
-Mark