Neuron Colocalization

Hello! I am new to CellProfiler and would appreciate some help.

I am trying to figure out a pipeline for counting colocalization using nuclei as the primary object/seed point. For some reason, when I try to identify secondary objects, the nuclei remain as objects when they are in a separate channel and I don’t see any major cross-channel interference.

My goal is to have a total cell count, total GFP-positive cell count (second channel), total PV-positive cell count (third channel), and total PV and GFP-positive cell counts. I am not sure what I am doing incorrectly here with my secondary object identification, and I would appreciate the help.

My (very short) pipeline and image I am trying to analyze can be found at this link.

I am using the most current version of CellProfiler, and have tried to base my pipeline on the instructions provided by David Logan on this forum.

Thank you!

Hi @golgitem,

I had look at your pipeline & images. The approach could be as follows,

1. Segment the Nuclei (There is some filtering step required to remove the BG). This gives
  1. Segment the GFP channel I tried using Primary object itself & this gives
  1. Segment the PV channel I tried using Primary object itself & this gives
  1. Using “RelateObjects” module relate the GFP positive & PV positive objects (screenshot shown here) & this gives

Then if need measure the colocalization.
PFA pipeline
Enhancer Coloc Pipeline_LB.cpproj (919.9 KB)
Hope this helps.

Regards,

Lakshmi
www.wakoautomation.com

1 Like

@lakshmi Thank you so much for your help. I still have two questions-- first, I am noticing that a very clearly labeled GFP+ cell is not being picked up by the second identify primary objects module, but it is identified in the third identify primary objects module. How can I adjust settings to include this cell? I tried rescaling intensity for these channels without luck. (Edit: I figured this out! Was a diameter issue)