Muscle fiber min Feret analysis

Hello,
I am a complete novice to Cell profiler and I downloaded it because of a recommendation from the treat NMD website. I have a very large number of fluorescent images from skeletal muscle cross sections to analyse and there will be many hundreds more to come as I move forward. Therefore I am looking for a semi automated method to assess several parameters from these images which are taken sections (see attached images) stained with Lamin (red; to show the outline of the muscle fiber), Pax7 (green: to detect satellite cells) and DAPI (blue; to show nuclei). Here are the 5 parameters I would like to measure:

1. Muscle fiber minimum Feret (a measure of diameter) using the lamin staining
  2. The number of Pax7 nuclei out of the total number of DAPI positive nuclei
  3. The total number of DAPI postive nuclei
  4. The number of fibers with a DAPI positive nuclei in the middle of the fiber (a sign of muscular regeneration)
    Any help in figuring out pipelines to identify these different muscle feature (from single or multiple images) would be a massive help and I would really appreciate your advice.
    Thank you in advance for your time.
    Best,
    Philippe

Hi Philippe,

Based on your images, I think a couple of example pipelines from our Examples page might be a good first start:

• Tissue Neighbors:
    This is a retinal epithelial cell assay but the cellular characteristics seem similar to yours. - Cell/particle counting, and scoring the percentage of stained objects:
    The approach describe here is a good basis for finding cells positive (or negative) for a stain of choice.
    Naturally, the pipelines listed were optimized for their particular images. Some tweaks will probably probably be needed for your particular assay. Hope this helps!
    -Mark

As an aside: I’m not familiar with the TREAT_NMD website. Would you mind posting a link to where you find the CellProfiler reference?
-Mark