Multiple measurements in Image J

Hi everyone, Happy holidays!

I am new to ImageJ and I’m trying to use it for measuring 8 traits/shrimp (thorax length, tail length etc) in my shrimp samples. I have 20k shrimp that I need to measure and so far I measured 3k of them, however, I think I do something wrong because despite my best efforts it takes very long time (3 months so far and I want to graduate…). So, the way I measure them is one trait at a time and then copy the length on an excel file (e.g. shrimp 1: trait 1 measure, copy in excel; trait 2 measure, copy in excel etc). However, I was wondering if instead of copy each value in an excel file after each measure for each trait and shrimp, I can customize the results table and do the measurements in a set order and then export the table to excel. Can someone (please!) help me with this? Any resource or guidance how to do these measurements faster is very welcomed!

Thanks!

try creating a plugin that automatizes your job and make use of this Personalized Result Table

We don’t know your analysis protocol. We can give you a better advise when you can give a better explanation of your measurements.

As far as I can help you out at this moment, I would suggest to make a macro. You can record a macro in the plugins>macros>record menu. In that case you can run your (8) measurements automatically. The other point is that measurements of the same picture are presented in the result table in columns (like excel). So it’s recommended to just make your 8 measurements on a single image and copy all these 8 results in excel.

It’s also possible to iterate over all your sample files and do the same measurement over and over. You have to invest some days (as a beginner) in making such a macro. But in your case it’ll save you lots of time.

Because I don’t know your measurement protocols (and a Image sample), I can not help you out with a macro at this moment. But it’s definitely possible (as a beginner) to make a macro yourself.