Multi Channel with openspim plugin

Hi everyone,

I am fairly new to the OpenSPIM world. I am working on diabetic nephropathy and a part of my project is to measure the damage done to the kidneys in zebrafish.

I have managed to use the OpenSPIM plugin for Micromanager to take some z-stacks over time. At the time, I was only interested in seeing GFP but now I also want to measure mCherry at the same time.

Is there any way to have a multi-channel acquisition. We want to use the plugin due to its anti-drift function.

Thank you very much in advance.

Kind regards,
Gideon

Hi Gideon,

If you have an additional laser then yes that should be possible and assuming the lasers you have can be controlled by Micro-Manager. When you say image at the same time, it would be sequential acquisition unless you setup two cameras for simultaneous acquisition. We have a Vortran Versalase with 4 separate laser lines.

Thanks,

Matt

1 Like

Hi Matt,

Thank you for such a quick reply. Yes I do mean sequential acquisition. So at each z I want to take two images, one for each channel.

I am able to control the lasers through micromanager, specifically I can turn them both on. However, what happens when I do an acquisition both lasers are shining at the same time and only one image is taken.

Our laser system is made by Cairn Research and the camera is a photometrics iris 9.

When you say you have 4 separate laser lines, are you able to define which ones will be captured/used by the Spim acquisiton plugin?

Thank you very much in advance.

Kind regards,
Gideon

Hi Gideon,

Sorry for the slow reply this time, i don’t get an email when when someone posts on a topic and just happened to be on the forum to ask a question myself.