Moments of Inertia / Slice Geometry

Hello everyone,

I’m currently working on a clinical trial where I need to measure shadow plugs on a femur from an MRI. This is why I wanted to use Slice Geometry. As it is a clinical trial, I cannot show you the images.

While I was trying to understand BoneJ’s functions, I saw that it was better to use Moments of Inertia before to align the bone to the principal axes.

I tried to use Moments of Inertia but the results were really awkward. It was really not what I expected and maybe it is because I’m new to BoneJ :woman_shrugging:

So, I started over and drew a ROI on the shadow plug, then I directly used Slice Geometry and got some results.

Do you think I can use those results even if I didn’t used Moments of Inertia ? As I am only using Slice Geometry on the shadow plug (where there is the ROI) I don’t know if Moments of Inertia is really useful and if I can get rid of it as I have difficulties to use it.

Thank you in advance for your answers !!

Please check the regulatory requirements for software used to analyse your clinical trial data. We have not sought regulatory approval and BoneJ has no warranty in any jurisdiction, in common with practically all ImageJ plugins including ImageJ itself.

If it is OK to use BoneJ for your clinical trial, then:

What sequence are you using? Typically bone tissue has low signal in MR images due to having tightly bound protons, so it usually has a low pixel value and looks dark on the images. Bone marrow typically has a high signal, as does surrounding muscle, vessels and fat. BoneJ was written and used with X-ray attenuation contrast in mind (CT, XMT, SR-µCT) in which bone has a high signal relative to other tissues and air.