Micro-Manager - How to do line-scanning using "Multi-Dimensional Acquisition"

Hi,

I’m new to Micro-Manager and would like to give it a shot for controlling a custom-made stage-scanning confocal setup. The stage system is a Mad City Labs Nano-PDQ350/375 + Nano-Drive 85 Controller connected to my laptop.

In Micro-Manager, I found the “Multi-Dimensional Acquisiton” menu which seems to be useful for defining sequences of stage positions, but it appears that all positions need to be “clicked together” manually. Is there maybe a way to read in e.g. a text file with X and Y positions, which I could conveniently generate using a script?
For example, if I wanted to scan a 10 um x 10 um area with a step size of 10 nm, I would have to type in 1000 x 1000 = 1.000.000 points by hand (which is obviously not very practical).
Alternatively, is there a way to write the whole measurement procedure into a script which is then read in and executed by Micro-Manager?

Finally, is it possible to send a trigger signal to the camera after each step, incl. a user-defineable wait period (e.g. wait period = camera integration time + stage settle time)?

Many thanks for your help!

Kind regards,
Joanna

I think you can accomplish all this using various features in pycro-manager. Happy to answer more specific questions after you’ve had a chance to give the documentation a read through

2 Likes

Hi @henrypinkard,

thanks for your help! I’m doing most of my scripting work in Python, so this looks very promising. I’m using Jupyter Notebook on Windows 10 by the way. I’m currently looking into Pycro-Manager and just stumbled into the first issue:

After installing the Pycro-Manager package and doing

from pycromanager import Bridge

bridge = Bridge()
print(bridge.get_core())

nothing happens. The cell remains busy/keeps executing indefinitely… What might be the problem here?