Merging Coloc2 & JACoP?

@chalkie666 @oburri

I am a new developer at the LOCI group. In fact - I’m a new developer period… I am a microbiologist by training - so new to the computational world. Part of my work here at LOCI will be working on Coloc2. As such - I have been pouring over all available docs … and I found a past discussion that proposes a merging of Coloc2 and JACoP. I think it is just a fantastic idea and just wanted to check with you both - to see if this still stands today as a possibility… and if so - would love to discuss this as soon as possible.

Many thanks!

3 Likes

Yes. It’s a thing that needs to be thought through and done right. Code can’t really be merged but ideas for gui certainly.

@chalkie666 precisely.

Hi, sorry for the late arrival.
AFAIK, JACoP is supposed to get an overhaul at some point soon. I had spoken to Fabrice Cordelières a while back about merging the small JACoP Tools ActionBar I had made to circumvent some of the current limitations of JACoP and offered that the JACoP code be put to GitHub. Unfortunately I have not had any news on this front.

I will be happy to help once we have access to the source code, and I would be happy to have a unified tool to show to our users so this idea really goes in the right direction for me.

As @chalkie666 pointed out, code cannot be merged, and the math behind coloc is simple enough. However GUI ideas and merging of functionality can definitely improve people’s Colc pipeline.

1 Like

The JaCoP source? I noticed it is GPL, and available from within the JAR file.

And of course, Coloc 2 is available on GitHub. And also GPL.

From my perspective, there should be two distinct components: colocalization-related math functions in ImageJ Ops, and a fancy schmancy flagship UI with the goodies of JaCoP + Coloc 2, which calls the Ops functions as needed. Maybe we could call it JaColoc2P. :wink:

3 Likes