Measuring thickness/width of the layer for multiple images

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in ImageJ/Fiji and I am working on a project but I don’t know how to go ahead and solve my problem.

My issue:
I want to measure the thickness of a layer for multiple images (>1000). I add an image to describe my issue more understandable.

Image0319 14-31-37.bmp (1.2 MB)

I have to two ideas how to solve the problem. I dont know how to implement it or which idea is working.

1. I draw a line along my sample and plot the profile. I get a peek on the position of the layer. If I measure the width of the peek I get the thickness of the layer.

2. I do segementation to detect the different parts and the edges. Then I measure the distance between the edges.

I would be happy if someone could help me to solve my problems. I dont know if my ideas work.

Best
Pouyan

If your images are 1000 images of the same sample over time, you could open them as a stack, draw a vertical line at the measurement location and reslice your xyt volume as a xt image from which it will be easier to get measurments.
Use the Image>Stack>Reslice command to do that.
Jerome

1 Like

Hey @jerome ,
thank you for your response and the hint with reslice. With the reslice it is really easier to get mesaurement. But I do not really know how to go further.

I describe my issue more clearly:
I mark the thickness of the layer that I want to measure for multiply images. The position of the sample remains the same but the layer moves upwards.

Image0022 16-09-01.bmp (3.5 MB)
Image0099 16-28-16.bmp (1.2 MB)

When I do the reslice it would be easier to segementation to measure the width of the white layer. But I dont know how to segment.
Or I draw a line, plot the profile and measure the width of the peak. But I dont know how.

Maybe you have a better idea or could give me more hints.

Thanks again.

Best Pouyan

Hi,