Measuring thickness (or width) of cracks

Hi everyone,

I’m new to image processing and I’ve encountered a problem I can’t solve.
I have images of cracked rock (shapes in black). I would like to calculate the width of the cracks and their average width. I have tested some methods proposed in the forum but it doesn’t work. If someone can propose me a method of automatic thickness (or width) calculation, I would be grateful.
Thank you in advance.

Ps: The attached image represents a single slice. The images on which I am working are composed of thousands slices.
Image: img.tif (2.8 MB)

Have a look here:
https://www.optinav.info/Local_Thickness.htm

1 Like

Another way could be to used the product of the Distance Map and the Skeleton of the thresholded binary image.
The result is the distance to the outer contour for each of the skeleton points (which are the maxima of the distance map and therefor a kind of major axis of the crack).

The following macro applied to the posted image

should demonstrate the principle:

setOption("BlackBackground", true);

setThreshold(69, 132);
run("Convert to Mask");

rename("orig");
run("Duplicate...", "title=dist");
run("Duplicate...", "title=skel");

selectWindow("dist");
run("Distance Map");

selectWindow("skel");
run("Skeletonize");
run("Divide...", "value=255");
setMinAndMax(0, 0);

imageCalculator("Multiply create", "dist","skel");
selectWindow("Result of dist");
run("Fire");
setMinAndMax(0, 57);
2 Likes

Hey phaub,
Thank you for your prompt response.
I tried to rup your script. All commands work except the last command ‘‘fire’’ which doesn’t work. I couldn’t get the thicknesses (widths) I’m looking for.
Do you have an idea about this problem ? How can I get a table of values?
Thank you in advance
Last image obtained : Result of dist.tif (1.4 MB)

Hey Gabriel,
Thank you for your response.
I’m looking for numerical values of the thickness, i.e. a table. I think this method gives only images.