Measuring fluorescence intensity on a z-stack

Hi everybody,

I am new to the image J forum.
I am also measuring flourescence intensity, so would like to check my protocol and ask some thinks I am not sure about.

I need to compare caspase-3 staining between two groups of cells (control and patient cell lines). Rather then comparing intensities of the individual cells, I need average intesity of all the stained cell nuclei across the image.

Here is what I am doing:

1. I did z-stack imaging, so first I creat a z-projection using max intensity method.
  2. Then I split channels to get the channel that shows just caspase staining
  3. Duplicate the image
  4. Adjust threshold manually on duplicated image (I use fill holes and watershed option if necessary)
  5. I enabled limit to threshold in set measurements and redirected measurements to the first image
  6. Then I do measurements with analyse particles (I have chosen both mean gray value and integrated density to measure, but I think integrated density would be a preferable choice). I have checked summarize box to get mean integrated density of all the measured cell nuclei in the image.

Images are calibrated.

1. I was using manual threshold. However I am a bit confused now. It seems that both manual and auto threshold could produce biased measurements. If I use manual threshold with always definied range would that be ok? Or is there a certain auto threshold method that wouldn’t produce biased results on my images?

Just to reflect on the problem that was mentioned in the comments: I was using the same channel for threshold and measurements, but I can see I will have to use DAPI to define threshold, and do the measurements on the caspase-3.

1. Should I measure the intensity of the background too as they did it here:
    http://theolb.readthedocs.io/en/latest/imaging/measuring-cell-fluorescence-using-imagej.html

Here is example image:

I would be greatful if somebody could clear this things for me :grinning: