Measuring circles touching and the interfacial area

Hi,

I am trying to measure how many times the blue circles touch the red circles, as well as the interfacial area of where the blue and red circles are touching using image J. Does anyone have any idea how I may best achieve this?

Thanks,

Xander

That can be resolved with region connection calculus.
https://blog.bham.ac.uk/intellimic/spatial-reasoning-with-imagej-using-the-region-connection-calculus/

What you are looking for is the “external connection” (EC) relation between blue and red regions. That can be done with the RCC8D plugins.

Thats great, thanks for your help! I’m being told I need at least two binary images open? I’m only trying to analyse this one image, and if I make even one image binary, will this not remove the red/blue regions?

You can segment the colours of your image and make two binary images out of that.

Thank you again for your help…

You’ll have to forgive me, I’m completely new to image J and dont really understand how to do this/use your plugin. Are they any instructions which come with the plugin which I can work through?

Please read the blog instructions to install and run the plugin.
Your case is similar to the section called “Example – pairs of fragmented regions” but you are looking for the EC relation. One of your images (X image) should have the blue discs as white (on a black background) and the other (Y image) the red+black_border discs as white also on a black background.
The “Show” option of the plugin should be set to “RCC8D”, so it shows the EC entries in the RCC table in a dark green colour.