Measuring Cell Membrane Fluorescence Intensity of Individual Cells Question

Hi all!

I am extremely new to both CellProfiler and ImageJ and was hoping to measure the fluorescence intensity or pixel intensity of the cell membrane of individual cells. What is the best way is the best way to go about this? In previous papers I have read, certain people have been able to trace the cell membrane in ImageJ with the freehand tool and measure the intensity of the perimeter in ImageJ. However, I am not sure how they were able to do this because when I use the freehand tool, it appears that it is measuring the area within the drawn lines - not measuring the intensity of the pixels of the perimeter.

Currently, I am working with yeast cells stained with Filipin III (fluorescent under the DAPI channel) that has been localized to the plasma membrane. I have attached an example of a tif image of the type of images I am currently working with.

Thank you!

Yeast Cells Stained with Filipin.tif (8.0 MB)

Hi @brrrik,

Nice pictures.

The most likely way they did that was to use the Freehand tool followed by Edit > Selection > Area to Line followed by Analyze > Plot Profile. You’ll need to average these values (which are the intensity for each pixel along the perimeter)

Ideally we would try to do these measurements automatically

CellProfiler provides a bunch of Perimeter* metrics, but you’ll have to be careful when detecting the individual cells automatically…

The detection of edges of the cell will depend on the intensity of the signal of the cell. And you have some highly verying intensities…
If you want to automate it, you may need to use a secondary marker that does not vary in intensity. and staing the whole yeast. This can then be used to first find the cells automatically, and then use the Fiilipin III channel only to measure that intensity metric you want.

Now onto imaging.