Measuring average crack length and aperture in 2D 8-bit image

Hi there,
I am currently writing a thesis on crack characterization in drying shale and have many images of samples being dried at different temperatures. I am supposed to use imagej to help me calculate the permeability yet I need few more parameters i.e. average crack length and aperture before I can do so.
I do not know how I would go about achieving this and any help would be greatly appreciated.
(I have attached one of the images.The image has been cropped, converted to 8-bit grayscale, enhanced the contrast then a threshold applied.)

Hi
@Think90

Use the “Ridge detection” plug-in.

Greetings

@Mathew
Thank you for the quick reply.
I can’t find the ridge detection plugin and after following your link and downloading the apache-commons-lang 3 nothing has changed.
I will apologize for my ignorance with regards to all of this, I’ve never used this program before.

Hi @Think90,

I guess the aperture is the number that emerges from a Euclidian Distance Transform?

The solid has value 0, the further from the solid toward the center of a crack, the higher the number.

The idea being that the further from the edge of a crack, the less resistance (or adherence?) fluid has when trying to pass a crack. Maybe you need to calibrate against a model where you can set the aperture and measure the flow. That delivers data points which eventually allows you to do a “density” or “absorbance” Analyse>Calibrate type of calibration with a series of known apertures in the right column and measured accompanying flow values in the left, fitted with an appropriate function. A measurement of the image will then, pixel by pixel, look up the “density” (ie. “flow” in your case) and sum this for the entire image.