Mavenization and debugging in Eclipse

Hej everybody,

This is my first post in the ImageJ forum but I am not a newbie in programming ImageJ plugins in Java anymore. I have started a plugin collection for the semi-automized image-analyses of X-ray images of soil-columns in 2013 (christened to ‘soilj’). Since then, the project has been maturing to the point that I am seriously starting to think about publishing it.

I am aiming at including the project into the Fiji bundle and have been trying to re-model it according to the Fiji requirements. However, this lead to a three day trip to a mavenized ImageJ hell and back. Since I am not eager to repeat this experience anytime soon, I thought it may be time to ask you for some advice.

So here is what happened. I am using Eclipse and had been setting it up following Patrick Pirotte’s cookbook “The ImageJ Eclipse Howto”:
http://imagejdocu.tudor.lu/doku.php?id=howto:plugins:the_imagej_eclipse_howto

Until last Friday, this had been working out fine. I had still been using a relatively old ImageJ version (I think some 1.47). I could write my plugins, run IJ as an application in Eclipse and the plugins would appear in the IJ plugin folder. I also could debug the whole thing in Eclipse, i.e. setting breakpoints for monitoring variable values, etc.

However, last Friday I was thinking it was time to upgrade to a new ImageJ version (1.50g) and try mavenizing my plugin at the same time. After two days of reading the Fiji.sc tutorials and trial and error I succeeded to set up Eclipse with mavenized versions of both imagej/fiji (I had tried them both) and soilj/soilj_ (I had also tried whether the underscore is still needed or not). The resulting soilj_.jar file was working fine when I copied it to the plugins folder of my regular Fiji, i.e. not the one in Eclipse.