Map recorded pixel greyscale to corrected/predicted incident intensity

I have taken a number of images using a camera assuming that it had a linear ratio of recorded greyscale to incident intensity. This was not actually the case, but I do now have a 2x256 array (.csv file) of recorded and corrected values to recalibrate the existing images. I would like to run through each pixel in each image and replace the pixel value with the one that neighbours it in the array. This will probably involve setCTable but I’m not sure how to use it.

I hope I’m not asking too much if somebody might even make a macro to do this, as I have no experience in this field.

Thanks for any help

Welcome to the forum, @joebron!

Here is a Groovy script that demonstrates how to use setCTable. It assigns randomized values to the currently active image.

#@ ImagePlus imp
table = new float[256]
for (i=0; i<table.length; i++) {
    table[i] = i*i + Math.random()
}
imp.getCalibration().setCTable(table, "quazworts")

Here is a short Groovy script that reads CSV files using the OpenCSV library included with Fiji:

#@ File csvFile
import com.opencsv.CSVReader
import java.io.FileReader
new CSVReader(new FileReader(csvFile)).withCloseable { r ->
  data = r.readAll() // data is returned as a List<String[]>
}
for (entry in data) println(entry)

Putting them together:

#@ ImagePlus imp
#@ File csvFile
#@ String units

import com.opencsv.CSVReader
import java.io.FileReader
import ij.IJ

// read CSV file
new CSVReader(new FileReader(csvFile)).withCloseable { r ->
  data = r.readAll()
}

// check that CSV file structure is as expected
if (data.size() != 2) {
	IJ.error("CSV file is not 2x256 (data length was ${data.size()})")
	return
}
indices = data[0]
values = data[1]
if (indices.length != 256 || values.length != 256) {
	IJ.error("CSV file is not 2x256 (lengths were ${indices.length} and ${values.length})")
	return
}

// initialize the table to identity function
table = new float[256]