MacroExtension Interface returning arrays?

Hi,

I was wondering if the MacroExtension Interface could support also arrays in addition to strings and numbers as a return type back to the macro language. See here for the documentation:

https://imagej.nih.gov/ij/macros/MacroExtensions.txt

I started to used the MacroExtension Interface to write some functions in Java, that would make life easier for me for in the world of ImageJ macro language. I am new to Java, but with a little help I was able to make a plugin (.jar) that was doing what is should, however my main goal would be to pass arrays to Java and get back assays in macro language.

Does anyone know if that could be implemented?

Many thanks!

Martin

1 Like

Hi @stoeter,

Do you have an example script of what you want to achieve ?

I have some experience on MacroExtension, but I’ve never used it with arrays. According to your link, I guess that you cannot output an array like this:

myArray = Ext.myFunc();

However this may work:

myArray = newArray(20);
Ext.myFunc(myArray);

You can modify myArray in the java code that handles myFunc. The modification will then be visible in the macro.

Be aware that MacroExtension is a way to increase the language possibilities of ImageJ1 scripting. But now you can overcome limitations of this language by scripting in other languages such as Jython and Groovy in Fiji.

I like groovy the most because it is pretty much the same as java (and has a syntax similar to ImageJ1 macros). Using Groovy, you don’t need MacroExtension anymore: you just need to import your package at the beginning of the script:
import myDomain.myPackage

And then you can use any objects and methods that are specific to your package.

Best

PS: Looking quickly, I cannot find a good resource to show Groovy examples in ImageJ. Maybe someone can help ?

1 Like

You can find some more information in chapter 12 of the macro language reference guide :

Here are also some linked examples: