Macro that only selects nuclei which have a cytoplasm stain but crops nuclei

imagej

Hi,

I’m new to imagej macros and have a small but major problem with my nuclear selection program.
I have written a macro which:

1. Creates a mask of all nuclei in an image
  2. Creates a selection mask using a cytoplasm stain
  3. Applies the cytoplasm selection over the nuclei mask
  4. Clears outside the cytoplasm selection (i.e removing all nuclei not with stained cytoplasm)
  5. It then records the fluorescent intensity within this specific cell type nuclear mask
    However, currently some nuclei which are close to the edge/half in half outside of the cytoplasmic stain are cropped because it clears the part of the nucleus that is outside of the cytoplasmic selection.
    Is there a command to keep the whole nucleus if that nucleus is touching the cytoplasm selection and only remove those nuclei which are not touching any cytoplasm?
    Thanks!
    Tom

If you are talking binary regions, then you could try Binary Reconstruction of the nuclei “mask”, using the cytoplasms as “seeds” (those are the terms used in the plugin).
That command would return all the nuclei that partially or fully overlap with the cytoplasmic masks.
A Binary Reconstruction plugin is in my “morphology collection” zip file
http://www.mecourse.com/landinig/software/software.html
http://www.mecourse.com/landinig/software/morphology.zip
(and in Fiji available through the “Morphology” update site).

Hi Gabriel,

Thanks for your help! I tried your Binary Reconstruction but the reconstruction came back exactly the same as the nuclei mask (images below)? I have highlighted a clearly negative cell which should have been removed so I’m not sure if it did anything to the partially overlapping cytoplasm/nuclei or just didn’t do anything?
Have I got the right input images having both as binary thresholds or does one need to be a selection and the other a binary threshold?