Macro saving images after processing

Hello,

I’m a beginner and want to create a macro for a background substaction and saving the image.
Therfore I need to open the images manually to set the correct ROI. Then i want to start the Macro. My problem is that the saving doesn’t work.

Here is my actual Macro for imagej.

folder = “C:/Users/gi3076/Pictures/Test_Macro/ATP4_24h_DAPI_BS”
originalimage = getTitle();

run(“Measure”);
macro “Subtract Measured Background 1” {
if (selectionType==-1)
exit(“This macro requires an area selection”);
for (i=1; i<=nSlices; i++) {
setSlice(i);
getStatistics(area, mean);
run(“Select None”);
run(“Subtract…”, “value=”+mean);

}

}

saveAs(“Tiff”, folder + originalimage);

maybe somebody can tell me what’s wrong?

I also read a lot about using “directory” codes, but i didn’t understand how to use them.

I would be greatful for some help.

Thanks a lot!

MM

HI @Michaela24 and welcome to the forum!

The quick answer is that your output path does not have a separator between the path C:/Users/gi3076/Pictures/Test_Macro/ATP4_24h_DAPI_BS and the filename (represented by originalimage).

You can hard code this by adding a slash or use the built in File.separator function (see here:Built-in Macro Functions)
Thus your save string would look like this:
saveAs("Tiff", folder+File.separator+originalimage);

Hope that helps!

1 Like

Hi @Michaela24 ,

I have a lecture series about this on youtube. Going through a directory for example is explained here:

Let us know if this helps!

Best,
Robert

thank you for your quick answer.
I tried both options but it still doesn’t work…

But I also found out that if i split the background substraction macro from the “saving” macro the saving works?
It’s confusing.

For simple scripts, you really don’t need to specify a macro block, you can just run the whole script:

folder = "C:/Users/gi3076/Pictures/Test_Macro/ATP4_24h_DAPI_BS"
originalimage = getTitle();

run("Measure");

if (selectionType==-1) {