Macro for batch processing of histograms

Hi everyone,

I’m new to imagej, so I kindly ask for your help.

I am trying to create a macro to process thousands of images in one folder. I can do it for every single image but it takes me several days to do it. And now I already spent several days to make a macro, unfortunately without success.

These are the steps I want to do:

1. Open all images (tif) in a folder
  2. Split the channels
    (3. Close green and blue channels)
  3. Create a histogram of the red channels
  4. Make ONE excel sheet containing two columns: 1. Name of the file, 2. Sum of pixels from greyscale 100 to 255
  5. Save the excel sheet

Can anybody help me with making this macro/batch?

Thanks in advance

Lisa

Hi @Lisa_no_pro,

Welcome.

Did you use the Plugin>Macro>Record to record the individual steps of your procedure?

Assuming all your images have the same size:
Did you import Image Sequence to open all images in a folder at once?
Possibly use a virtual stack if you have very many images?

Did you creat a newArray() of titles,
Which you filled with titleArray[i]=getInfo(“image.subtitle”); for every slice, to be used later to create the report?

Did you color>Split Channels to separate red, green and blue?
Then create a for loop that loops over every slice, takes histograms using getHistogram(values, counts, nBins[, histMin, histMax])
Then loop from 100 to 255 over the values and sums the counts

Finally print() the results to a table and saveAs(“results”, filePath); the table. A text file can be imported in Excel.

Tell us how far you get and/or where you have different starting points, so we can help you further.

Hi @eljonco,

thank you very, very much for your quick response.

Yes, I tried but I failed to generalize the macro for my folder as I am not very experienced. That is why I cannot really cope with your hints, I’m sorry.

Yes, all the images have the same size. I have 3000 images with 4MB.

Yes, I did that.