Live/Dead Cell Counting 3D Gel (CZI)

I am brand new to image analysis. I am attempting to analyze confocal images of a 3D gel of human cancer cells that have been treated with a fluorescent live/dead assay. I’ve tried the 3D Objects Counter in Fiji on the dead (left window below) and live (right window below) but with poor accuracy based on what I can see on the light/grayscale image (center window below) - effectively undercounting cells.

Here is the appearance of the images when I open the czi in Fiji with Bio-Formats using hyperstack view with autoscale and split channels:

Screenshot 2019-06-18 20.32.56.png

I’m wondering what tools you might recommend using to do this analysis with more accurate results? I’m willing to learn any software package that might help. I have 54 gels each with 33 images that need to be analyzed. I’ve been doing one-by-one with the aforementioned methodology but have put that on hold for now due to the questionable accuracy.

Best,
MIBG

EDIT: I should probably add that these cells have been treated with an intervention which, at high doses, can impact the morphology of the cell (some break). Example:

Screenshot 2019-06-18 20.58.49.png

I’d like to add an additional question onto my initial question above: is there a way to make ImageJ do automatic threshold calculations for each slice in a z-stack, rather than looking for an average threshold for the whole stack? I ask because some of my experiments, due to the intervention, have an extremely saturated out first image and a very poorly thresholded last image with a bunch of average slices in between. It would be nice if I could have the 3D object counter do a threshold assessment for each slice.

Hi,

you can have a look at this tool here:

3D Segmentation and Analysis Module

which can be found on the APEER module page: APEER - Public Modules

or try out this fiji python script: 3d_analytics_adv.py

It required this one to function correctly: fijipytools.py