Links to svn.broadinstitute.org not working

Hello all,

I am a systems administrator trying to install CellProfiler on our cluster. When I try to execute the Makefile which downloads CellProfiler’s dependencies, it will fail when trying to download “findlibjvm.class” because the server is not responsive. I did an nslookup on the server and tried pinging the IP from my desktop which also failed. Is the server svn.broadinstitute.org down? Am I doing something wrong? Any help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Brian

Hi Brian,

Sorry for the slow response- hmm, no, I wasn’t aware of any downtime around then. Did the issue get resolved for you?

Regards,
David

Oh, but I should also say tangentially that the Linux Makefiles here are all quite old. It’s possible that they point to old repositories I suppose. Please see cellprofiler.org/linux.shtml for a more reliable method to install CellProfiler for CentOS, and you can also find some folks’ Docker solutions for other distros like Ubuntu by searching on the forum.

Hope that helps,
DAvid

Hi David,

Thank you for the reply. I am trying to install this application on our cluster and I need to install it using a different prefix. In our environment, we have a directory of tools that are mounted via NFS to our compute nodes. My strategy for installing this was to download the RPM files via yum and do an RPM install under a different prefix for the relocatable packages and install all the non-relocatable ones on the image of our compute nodes. I have not been able to get it working. Could you please point me in the right direction for installing this application on a cluster from source? Your help is much appreciated.

Thanks,

Brian