Labeling and Visualization

visualization
cellprofiler
segmentation
help
trackobjects

Hi,

I am new to CellProfiler and have a couple questions.

1. A “TrackObjects” module is added to the end of the ExampleFlyImages pipeline (see below). By comparing the size of the nuclei and AreaShape in the spreadsheet, the ObjectNumber seems to match with the labels shown on the TrackObjects.
    Is it the right way to figure out the corresponding label of each nucleus (i.e. spreadsheet ObjectNumber)? Or in their a better way?

2a. I would like to display the contours of the nuclei and cytoplasm in different colors on top of the original image. Is there a way to do that?
2b. If I have multiple cell types, can I display their contours in different colors the same way (assuming that all cell are segmented and classified)?

Thank you!
Stephen

Hi Stephen,

1. TrackObjects_Label_(somenumber) will be the value in your spreadsheet that matches the numbers shown in the TrackObjects module window*- the (somenumber) part will match whatever you use as the maximum pixel distance
    2a) Yup! You’re looking for the OverlayOutlines module.
    2b) Yup again! You’ll want to either identify each cell type separately or identify them all and then use FilterObjects to create your different subpopulations- in any case, once you have the multiple object types that you want, you can use OverlayObjects to add the outlines of each in a different color.

Good luck!

*=Unless you use LAP tracking and run the second stage; things get complicated at that point, but no need to go into it unless you are actually doing that.

For Question 1 (how do you associate ObjectNumber with objects in the image), I would use DisplayDataOnImage and choose the Object_Number, like this:

Then in the associated figure window, you will see each object labeled with its respective ObjectNumber.
No need for TrackObjects, IMHO.

Ah, ty @David_Logan, I misunderstood the question.