Java Plugin appears but does not do anything

fiji

Dear all,

I wrote a little plugin in IntelliJ and imported the .class file. The name of the plugin shows up in the drop down menu but when I choose it it does nothing. No error messages and for others with for example another JVM it shows error messages.

Is there a problem with the compiling from IntelliJ?

Thank you for your answers in advance!

Best wishes

Anna

Since you delivered no code I can only guess that you tested the *java plugin with the main method and maybe you didn’t implement the ImageJ plugin run method as the main entry point (when we talk about the PlugIn interface) public void run(String arg) which will be called when executing the plugin?

Everything else can be a wild guess without your source.

Thank you so much! I am new in writing Java and I made the mistake to have:
public class My_Plugin extends JPanel {
public static void main ( String Args){

}
}
and not:
public class My_Plugin implements PlugIn{
public void run (String arg) {

}
}

But now I have the problem that I cant compile since in the IDE (IntelliJ) I cant include the imageJ commands. I tried already this: https://intellij-support.jetbrains.com/hc/en-us/community/posts/360000503104-ImageJ-scripting?page=1#community_comment_360000312360
But it is somehow not working and I am very new in Java and a bit confused.
Does someone has another way?

Thanks a lot!

It would be helpful if you just showed us your code and the associated compiler errors, or even better posted the entire IntelliJ project somewhere in the cloud.

I understand you are working off this guide written by @ctrueden , who regularly monitors this forum, so you have indeed come to the right place to ask a question. We just need you to ask it in a specific manner so we can reply with a specific answer.

Here is my example I tried to run to test the workflow of java in IntelliJ:

And the errors I get: