Is it possible to combine export to excel files to one file?

Hi I’m using CellProfiler 2 and am trying to analyze some data. The data looks at the amount of mCherry positive events within a cell and the number of FITC positive events within the mCherry positive area. The pipeline we have is fine it does the job and gives us an output we are satisfied with when we look at it when we have a small data set.

The output, does result in three separate .csv files. I would like a one file output and one that aligns the data from each MCH and FITC even to their parents. Our lab inherited a python script that does part of the work but it only sums the MCH and FITC data for each cell, it does not provide us with a table that shows the individual values. I’m a novice with Python as it is so I am struggling to get it work the way I want.

Is there a way I can change the output so that it does what I am asking?

Thank you!

Hi @JMilesUTSW,

Could you elaborate on how you imagine a single file output would look? If you want to combine multiple object types this may not be straightforward as a single parent cell will probably have multiple children. A single row in a table represents one object, so which object should that row represent and where should the data from multiple objects be placed?

The ExportToDatabase module does have a single table export option, but this is primarily designed for use with CellProfiler Analyst as the presence of mixed object types can make it hard to interpret.

Hi @DStirling,

I am trying to get an output that makes it easy to sort and identify which image and cell the mCherry and FITC positive events come from. This data is already in the outputs but is not easy to sort manually in excel for large data sets over three different files. Some wells will be FITC+.MCH+, some will only be MCH+ but all will have cells.