Installing deeplabcut in GPU

Hi I was trying to install DLC with gpu but couldn’t succeed yet. I am using Quadro 4000 GPU, Cuda 8, NVIDA driver 377.83 and default tensor flow version 1.13 in windows 10. Here are my few questions and would really appreciate for your help and suggestion.

1. After installing driver and CUDA 8 I checked with nvcc-V it shows CUDA being installed but nvidia -smi it doesn’t show any CUDA. As I read some where the order of operations matters should I install first CUDA-8 followed by driver and then DLC or first the driver then CUDA 8 and the DLC.

2. I came to realize for windows with cuda-8, I need to have tensor flow 1.4.0 however the default version is 1.13.0. Do I need to change it to 1.4.0?

This is my first time using CUDA and GPU so please excuse me if the questions are too naïve.

Hi,

nvidia-smi doesn’t show CUDA version until 410.72 driver. The default tensorflow-gpu in current GPU env is actually 1.15.5.

You can also use newer CUDA (10 for instance) and newer driver (I run the latest and update regularly on one of my computers since it’s also my gaming rig). Anyway it should also work with what you have.

Installing CUDA it asks you to have Visual Studio installed for CUDA code compilation - did you install it prior to installing CUDA?

You say you didn’t succeed in setting up GPU env, but report no error. What exactly isn’t working?

Hi Konrad thanks

The GPU I have (Quadro 4000) is quite old and the driver compatible with it says it only supports CUDA 8. I am not sure if CUDA 10 will work on it. I installed visual studio community 2015 before installing CUDA. The problem was I started training with DLC-GPU but it was too slow later in I checked my GPU usage in task manager and found GPU not being used at all.

I will try to reinstall everything and try once again. Meanwhile, do you think should I change the tensor flow to 1.4 for CUDA-8.