Install and start qupath ubuntu 20.04

Hi,

how can I install QuPath 0.2.1 on ubuntu 20.04? (I am new to ubuntu and linux in general).
I extracted the qupath folder. How am I supposed to proceed? Is there some command like “make install”?

Best,
Sophia

1 Like

If by extracted the QuPath folder you mean that you downloaded the pre-built version of QuPath you should be able to open QuPath by
CTRL + ALT + T (open terminal)

type the below to navigate to the bin folder inside the QuPath folder (change something with the specifics for the location your machine
cd /something/someting/QuPath-0.2.1/bin/

then type
./QuPath-0.2.1

Voila, QuPath should open

2 Likes

Hey, thank you for your reply. I did so but this is what happened:

A fatal error has been detected by the Java Runtime Environment:

SIGSEGV (0xb) at pc=0x00007fa4857e637e, pid=19999, tid=20027

JRE version: OpenJDK Runtime Environment AdoptOpenJDK (14.0.1+7) (build 14.0.1+7)

Java VM: OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM AdoptOpenJDK (14.0.1+7, mixed mode, tiered, g1 gc, linux-amd64)

Problematic frame:

C [libc.so.6+0x9d37e] __libc_malloc+0x11e

Core dump will be written. Default location: Core dumps may be processed with “/usr/share/apport/apport %p %s %c %d %P %E” (or dumping to /home/alex/Desktop/QuPath-0.2.1/bin/core.19999)

If you would like to submit a bug report, please visit:

https://github.com/AdoptOpenJDK/openjdk-support/issues

--------------- S U M M A R Y ------------

Command Line: -Djava.library.path=/home/alex/Desktop/QuPath-0.2.1/lib/app:/home/alex/Desktop/QuPath-0.2.1/bin -Djava.launcher.path=/home/alex/Desktop/QuPath-0.2.1/bin -XX:MaxRAMPercentage=50 qupath.QuPath

This is what it says in the error log

do i maybe have to uninstall the openjdk versions that I had installed seperately before?

it just worked now… weird.

But however, there is only half of my ram in total shown? I have 64 gb, but the max available there is 32 gb. Is there a way to fix this?