Incomplete loading of nd2 file through Python script in ImageJ: positions missing

Hello,

I am new to the use of scripting in ImageJ, and I am facing an issue when trying to load a nd2 file (from Nikon Elements software) with a Python script in ImageJ.

The nd2 file contains a sequence of images for 256 different positions, with 15 time points at each positions, and 3 channels. Each frame is 124x124 pixels.

The file loads fine using the usual “File/Open” in ImageJ, with just an extra window “Bio Format Series Options” popping up to ask me which of the 256 positions I would like to open.

I tried to open the same file via a script the following way, following the Jython example from @ctrueden:

from loci.plugins import BF

file = "Z:/case_imagesc/test_1.nd2"
imps = BF.openImagePlus(file)

print(imps)
for imp in imps:
    imp.show()
    stack = imp.getImageStack()
    print 'Number of frames in stack = ', stack.size()

The output of this short script is:

array(ij.ImagePlus, [img[“Z:/case_imagesc/test_1.nd2 - test_1.nd2 (series 001)” (-48), 16-bit, 124x124x3x1x15]])
Number of frames in stack = 45

So it seems that only the first position (series 001) is loaded in the object “imps”. And indeed, the corresponding stack contains only 3x15 frames corresponding to a single position, and the shown images correspond to a single position.

However, I would like to open all the positions into one or separate objects, to be able to apply plugins to all of them (256 positions x 15 time points x 3 channels).

Is there a way to do so?

Thank you for your help!

@fpeaudec Unfortunately, IIRC, the BF.openImagePlus will behave based on your last-used Bio-Formats settings. So if you opened only a single position last time, I think it will open only a single position this time.

Here is a way to override the last-used settings:

from loci.plugins.in import ImporterOptions
options = ImporterOptions()
options.setId(file)
options.setOpenAllSeries(true)
imps = BF.openImagePlus(options)