Importing DNG File into Fiji

Hello,

I am trying to import a DNG file format into Fiji. I tried using Import>Raw and also Bio-Formats, but have had issues with both.

For Import>Raw I know that my image is 24-bit, width = 768, and height = 1024, but I wasn’t sure how to determine the offset? The result is a very grainy image that looks nothing like the original.

For the Bio-Formats, I just kept the default settings and am able to open the image. However, the image now shows that it is 8-bit. I was hoping to do my processing in 16-bit so that I am not losing any pixel data.

I am very new to ImageJ/Fiji, and am unsure of where I am going wrong. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Mary Beth

It could be that Bio-Formats is not behaving ideally, we’d love to be able to check. Could you upload a small public 24-bit sample DNG image to http://qa.openmicroscopy.org.uk/qa/upload/ or otherwise make it available? Or if you have only private data, let us know and we’ll keep the file under wraps.

Hello,

Thank you for the quick response! I’ll load a test image in DNG taken and uploaded the same way.

Thanks for your help!

Hi Mary Beth,

I don’t know how Fiji’s raw import works, but I had a look at your image imported with Bioformats. And it looks fine. It is an 8-bit image. Maybe you get a bit mixed up with the terminology. As it is a three channel RGB image there are 24 bits in total per pixel. But in general - and that’s what Bioformats does - one refers to the bits per channel, which is 8 in that case.

Kind Regards,
Dominik

Hi Dominik,

Ah, ok. I think I see what you’re saying. I’m trying to make sure that I preserve as much pixel data as possible when transferring an image from a smartphone to my computer and then opening in Fiji. So you are saying that the RBG image (when imported using Bioformats) is 24-bit, but the 1/3, 8-bit info in the header is noting that each color channel is 8-bit. Correct?