Imagej vs igor vs python

I’m at a crossroad now and I would like to ask for advice people with larger experience in programming and image analysis. I want to do 2 things: (1) Write a program (script/plugin) for image analysis and (2) learn programming in that process.

I started learning python and so far I’m feeling overwhelmed. I don’t understand anything from what I’ve read or watched. Coding in python is incredibly unintuitive to me. Also the vast number of distributions to choose from doesn’t help… Granted I don’t have any programming background, but I did write a lot in Igor during my phd (it’s a program mainly for graphics charts that has programmable environments c/c++). I learnt that rather quickly, understood the structure of the code and could write with ease. With python it’s a nightmare. I just don’ get it. Lack of graphical interface for images makes it a pain to operate on images. In comparison imagej and igor has a robust interface that makes it easier fot both programmer and user. In python I need to write everything by hand, even simple stuff like drawing a straight line on the image to show the intensity plot. In both imagej and igor that is either built in or relatively easy to do.

I would like to write a code for image analysis in python, since it’s the defacto programming language now and it might come in handy in the future, but it’s the second or third time I’ve tried it and absolutely hate it.

Other option is to work in imagej. Imagej is free, versatile and ubiquitous in image analysis circles. It’ designed for image analysis. The graphical interface, already built in image analysis tools and the ability to operate on manually selected ROI is incredibly user friendly. But the problem is I don’t know which language I should focus on. Imagej supports numerous language and that in itself is a bit confusing. Which one is the default languare for imagej? From what I can tell for newcomers ij1 macro is recommended, but limited.