Image Stitching using FIJI/ImageJ

Hello, I’m a beginner level ImageJ user trying to stitch ROI’s using the Grid Collection Stitching plug in. I have 18 images I’d like to stitch side by side into an unfolded image. After selecting the image series I get the following error:

“ERROR: Found: 1 tiles, but at least 2 are required for stitching. Aborting.”
I’m using the type= positions from file and order=defined by image meta data

Any ideas what I could be doing wrong? And how I could fix it.

Thanks,
Quiroz-1

Below are some sample images

1.tif (380.6 KB)
2.tif (380.6 KB)
3.tif (380.6 KB)
4.tif (380.6 KB)

1 Like

Hey @Quiroz-1,

would you mind sharing a screenshot showing how you configured the stitching? That might make it easier for us to guess what’s wrong :wink:

Cheers,
Robert

Hi Robert,

Yes, here it is.

Thanks,
Quiroz-1

1 Like

Hi @Quiroz-1,

the reason is that your 1.tif image is not an image sequence. It’s a single image. Please put all your images in a folder and run the grid collection stitching like this:

Set the grid size to 4x1, the overlap to 50%, the folder accordingly, the file names for tilies to {i}.tif and deactivate “Compute overlap”

The result should then look like this:

Let us know if it works!

Cheers,
Robert

2 Likes

Hi Robert,

This worked!

One other question, the ROI’s have to be the same size for this to work? I tried doing this process again, cropping individual files instead of cropping a stack of images and it gave me the following error

Thank you,
Quiroz-1

1 Like

I’m afraid the tiles have to have the same size, yes.

Ok great. I will crop entire image stacks to ensure this works.

Thanks for your help!
Quiroz-1

Hi @haesleinhuepf,