Image J difficulty in formatting for auto-analysis

Hello, I’m fairly new to ImageJ, and can not seem to find a threshold that will allow for me to auto-analyse the area of my cells accurately, just wondering if anyone has any advice?
Well11.day 1.pdf (1.4 MB)

Hi Aaron,

Would it be possible to a) post a tiff containing the image and b) in a second image, indicate where the cells are located? From the pdf it is hard to get the image data into ImageJ and there seem to be things floating in the ‘well’ that could be air bubbles, debris or cells… But then, I’m not a biologist.

Hi @eljonco ,

Thank you for getting back to me. I’ve attached a tiff and an image highlighting the relevant cells. yes there are a couple of air bubbles in the well, apologies, hopefully, the image clears it up, thank you

Well11.day 1.tiff (8.3 MB)

OK @Aaron1, that’s better. I notice that the magnification you use has a lot of overhead footage in the image. Maybe that is because you want the B3.B4,C3,C4 in the image. Unfortunately, this is not the best way to obtain a proper threshold but this image gives us the opportunity to mention a few options for improvement as generally speaking, image processing is ‘crap in, crap out’.

So first try to get the best of your microscope, camera and illumination. Your well doesn’t seem to give much colour information, so why not record in monochrome? That also saves 66% of data to store.

Next, if you look at the histogram of the well bottom, after converting your RGB to 8-bit grey, I see a peak from 190 to 220. That means your dynamic range is 220-190=30 grey levels, while you have 255 at your disposal. Try to manipulate your specimen, illumination, camera exposure time and microscope setting such that you obtain more grey levels from the well bottom.